NCPMA Announces Winners of 2021 Awards

Association recognizes Technicians of the Year and Administrative Professional of the Year

The North Carolina Pest Management Association (NCPMA) today announced the winners of its 2021 Technician of the Year Awards and 2021 Administrative Professional of the Year Award. 

The winners were announced at the opening session of the 2022 NCPMA Pest Control Technician’s School on Jan. 25, 2022.

Award Recipient
Technician of the Year 


Tommy Sparks

Terminix Triad

Stokesdale, NC

Technician of the Year 


James Morton

Terminix Triad

Elkin, NC

Administrative Professional of the Year Nikki Gunnell

Go-Forth Pest Control

Greensboro, NC

Technician of the Year

NCPMA presents two Technician of the Year awards each year to technicians who exemplify the best qualities of pest management professionals within their companies.  The two Technician of the Year awards are given each year to technicians in the pest management phase and wood-destroying insects phase.  

Technicians of the Year are chosen based on the applicant’s demonstration of leadership among peers, excellent customer relations, knowledge of his/her job, superior job performance and the ability to successfully handle problems on the job.  All applicants must be members of NCPMA, have at least two years of experience in either the pest management or wood-destroying insects phase and must be nominated by a person in a leadership role in his or her company. 

Winners of the Technician of the Year Award receive a $250 gift card, a plaque and one free Pest Control Technician’s school registration.  

Administrative Professional of the Year

The North Carolina Chapter of the Professional Women in Pest Management (NCPWIPM), a committee of the NCPMA, began awarding the Administrative Professional of the Year Award annually in 2018 to the administrative professional who best demonstrates customer service both internally and externally and a commitment to the company’s purpose. 

Each nominee must be a current, full-time administrative support staff member and must have worked in his/her current position for at least two years. 

Winners receive a plaque and a $350 gift card.